Various Artists - J Jazz Vol. 4: Deep Modern Jazz from Japan (Nippon Columbia 1968 -1981) 3LP (Pre-Order)

Regular price $53.99
Sale price $53.99 Regular price
Sale Sold out
Unit price
This is a pre order item. We will ship it when it comes in stock.

This latest station stop off is with the famed Nippon Columbia label, one of the biggest labels in Japan, whose jazz output embraces every possible style imaginable. Focusing on the key years 1968-1981, J Jazz volume 4 sees compilers Tony Higgins and Mike Peden dig even deeper into their record collections and pull-out tracks that span styles ranging from solo to big band, jazz classical interpretations and heavy jazz rock, to febrile post-bop, white hot samba fusion, and modal psychedelic wig-outs.

J Jazz volume 4 features icons such as drum master Takeo Moriyama, keyboard magi Hiromasa Suzuki, Fumio Itabashi, and Masahiko Satoh, and guitar wizards Kazumi Watanabe and Kiyoshi Sugimoto, alongside big band maestros and innovators Nobuo Hara and his Sharps and Flats, and Toshiyuki Miyama’s New Herd. Thunderous basslines nestle alongside glistening runs of electric piano, bubbling synths and air-tight drumming as the heavy psychedelic modal blues of Jiro Inagaki flows with the infectious samba grooves of Takashi Mizuhashi featuring Herbie Hancock; Shigeharu Mukai’s fusion funk epics take the music to another level and Mikio Masuda’s driving keyboard rhythms brings the heat to an incendiary dancefloor zone.

With 7,000 words of extensive sleeve notes, J Jazz vol 4 comes in a triple 180g vinyl set inside a deluxe gatefold sleeve with obi strip plus a 4 page insert. Mastered at the Grammy-nominated Carvery Studio by Frank Merritt, this latest collection is a worthy successor to the preceding three volumes that have set the bar so high.

  • Pressed on 180g triple black vinyl
  • Packaged in a deluxe gatefold sleeve
  • Mastered at the Grammy-nominated Carvery Studio by Frank Merritt

Pre-Order - Expected to Ship June, 2024

Track List:

  • 1 Exchange – Takeo Moriyama
  • 2 The Ground For Peace – Jiro Inagaki & His Soul Media
  • 3 Chakkiri Bushi – Nobuo Hara and his Sharps & Flats
  • 4 Trial Road – Tomoki Takahashi
  • 5 A Muddy Muffin – Masahiko Sato
  • 6 Samba de Negrito – Takashi Mizuhashi & Herbie Hancock
  • 7 Scramble – Hiromasa Suzuki
  • 8 Prelude To The Afternoon Of A Faun – Nobuo Hara and His Sharps & Flats
  • 9 Jones Street – Kiyoshi Sugimoto
  • 10 By The Red Stream – Hiromasa Suzuki
  • 11 Kaleidoscope (Edit) – Mickie Yoshino & Kazumi Watanabe
  • 12 Ougi Denju-shiki – Toshiyuki Miyama and His New Herd
  • 13 Toppu – Shigeharu Mukai
  • 14 Mickey’s Samba – Mikio Masuda