Pyongyang Gold Stars - Take On Us! PyongyanGold Stars Play Great Popular Hits Vol 1. LP

Regular price $44.99

This is fucking weird, but great.  We're happy to make it available to you though!

In spring 2013, military tensions on the Korean peninsula had reached a boiling point amid escalating rhetoric between North Korea and the United Nations following Pyongyang’s third nuclear test. In this tense atmosphere, a small team of Norwegian artists headed into the heart of the Hermit Kingdom to record a tribute album to international pop stars A-ha, re-interpreted by elite accordion students of Pyongyang’s Kum Song (Gold Star) Music School. They made it out alive, and brought back this spectacular example of musical collaboration against all odds – and fine pop songs, too. Let a hundred a-ha-ccordions play!

Track List:

  • The General Galloping on a White Horse
  • Take on Me
  • Train of Thought (Ft. Kim Jin Hui)
  • Hunting High and Low
  • The Blue Sky
  • Living a Boy's Adventure Tale
  • The Sun Always Shines on TV
  • And You Tell Me
  • Love Is Reason
  • I Dream Myself Alive
  • Here I Stand and Face the Rain
  • The Sun Always Shines on TV (A New Religion Mix)