Midori Takada - Tree of Life LP

Regular price $31.99
Sale price $31.99 Regular price
Sale Sold out
Unit price
This is a pre order item. We will ship it when it comes in stock.

180 gram vinyl; half-speed-mastered. WRWTFWW Records present the worldwide reissue of Midori Takada's solo album from 1999, Tree of Life. Originally recorded in September 1998 at legendary Ginza (Tokyo) studio Onkio Haus (founded in 1974 and where Ryuichi Sakamoto's "Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence" and many more were recorded) and released on CD only for the Japan market in 1999, Tree of Life is Midori Takada's best kept secret, a lost gem of minimalism and percussive ambient. The album is separated in two parts, the first one finds Takada exploring her trademark environmental soundscapes with precise mastery of marimba, drums, and bells, notably on the magnificent fan-favorite "Love Song Of Urfa". The second half is a collaboration with Chinese virtuoso Erhu player Jiang Jian Hua, allowing Midori Takada to unveil new layers of her artistic mind with a slightly more theatrical approach and a beautiful crystallization of complex simplicity. The entire album was given a fresh new audiophile mix by Midori Takada herself and was mastered at Emil Berliner Studios. This Tree of Life reissue follows two newly recorded Midori Takada albums, Cutting Branches For A Temporary Shelter (WRWTFWW 060CD/LP) and You Who Are Leaving To Nirvana (WRWTFWW 061CD/LP), both available on WRWTFWW Records, along with her 1983 masterpiece, Through The Looking Glass (WRWTFWW 018LP). Design by Kohei Sugiura.

Track List:

  • Love Song of Urfa
  • Tan Tejah
  • Tayurani
  • Wa-Na-Imba
  • Modoki 1 (Futa-Aya-Asobi)
  • Awase 1 (Futa-Aya-Asobi)
  • Yukiai (Futa-Aya-Asobi)
  • Awase 2 (Futa-Aya-Asobi)
  • Orifusi (Futa-Aya-Asobi)
  • Modoki 2 (Futa-Aya-Asobi)
  • Awase 3 (Futa-Aya-Asobi)
  • Usuyo (Futa-Aya-Asobi)