Load image into Gallery viewer, Earthling - Dance LP (Pink Vinyl)
Load image into Gallery viewer, Earthling - Dance LP (Pink Vinyl)
Load image into Gallery viewer, Earthling - Dance LP (Pink Vinyl)

Earthling - Dance LP (Pink Vinyl)

Regular price $28.99
Sale price $28.99 Regular price
Sale Sold out
Unit price
This is a pre order item. We will ship it when it comes in stock.

Tokyo, 1981. A couple of fashion designers decide to go for it and start recording music with a third musician. Their debut album, Dance, is an influential synth pop and wave album twisting the boundaries of the genres.

Earthling consisted of the couple: lead vocalist/guitarist John, bass guitarist Yoko Fujiwara, plus keyboard/sythesizer player Jin Haijama. The group was formed in Tokyo in 1979 when John and Yoko, previously fashion and textile designers, felt the desire to give the music they’d written a more permanent environment. They recruited Jim, who was working in an amusement park, and evolved a musical form which pulsed with a steady beat, yet was tempered by hypnotic vocal chanting. The sound of Earthling reinforces the subtle and sensitive connections which link modern music to dance to, with hints of synth-pop, new wave and heavy punk vocals tainted by drum machines.

While the group uses a rhythm-machine to epitomize the sustained beat of Tokyo in the early 80s, the emotional vocal impact of songs like ‘’Heavy Feeling in My mind’’ and ‘’The Guard of Sensitivity’’ add an urgent, street-wise dimension to their precise instrumental presentation. Earthling are sound pioneers, painting future dreams that transcend the present day.

  • Remastered from Master Tapes
  • Limited Edition – 500 copies on Pink Vinyl
  • Classic seminal synth pop and wave synth album from Japan

Track List:

  • You Go On Natural
  • I'm Waiting For You
  • The Guard of Sensitivity
  • Heavy Feelings In My Mind
  • Make It Together
  • Caroline Calls Me
  • Let's Find Our Bright Speed Again
  • Morning Song