Alva Noto + Ryuichi Sakamoto - Utp_ (Remastered) 2LP

Regular price $39.99
Sale price $39.99 Regular price
Sale Sold out
Unit price
This is a pre order item. We will ship it when it comes in stock.

Released for the first time in 2009, utp_ is the third installment of Alva Noto and Ryuichi Sakamoto's V.I.R.U.S.'s series. It was commissioned for the 400th anniversary of Mannheim, Germany. The flowing ten-section multimedia work derives its shape from a rasterized structure of the southwestern city, founded in 1608. The recording documents the work's debut performed by Ensemble Modern at the National Theatre in Mannheim. The music embraces the electronic, piano-based palettes, an expanded array of avant-garde chamber instrumentation and natural timbres. It combined the digital visual score created by Carsten Nicolai and Simon Mayer, and lighting design by Nigel Edwards. Album art designed by Carsten Nicolai. Mastering by Bo at Calyx.

Track List:

  • Attack/Transition
  • Grains
  • Particle 1
  • Transition
  • Broken Line 1
  • Plateaux 1
  • Silence
  • Particle 2
  • Broken Line 2
  • Plateaux 2/End