Various Artists - Snapshot: Jazz Now Jazz Aus Der DDR 2LP

Regular price $14.99
Sale price $14.99 Regular price
Sale Sold out
Unit price
This is a pre order item. We will ship it when it comes in stock.

Song Cycle presents a reissue of Snapshot: Jazz Now Jazz Aus Der DDR, originally released on FMP in 1980. In August 1979, East German musicians were invited to perform a three-day festival in West Berlin. Billed as "Jazz Now," this landmark meeting was recorded and initially released in a limited edition. From stunning duos to challenging small-group performances, from large rave-ups to Mingus nods, Snapshot: Jazz Now Jazz Aus Der DDR provides much more than that name suggests. It's as complete a portrait of jazz in the GDR as one is ever likely to find, and a moment in time that continues to reverberate -- via these sounds -- today. Features: Berliner Improvisations Quartett, Gumpert/Sommer Duo, Friedhelm Schönfeld Trio, Ulrich Gumpert Workshop Band, Studio IV, Gumpert/Sommer and Manfred Hering, Ernst-Ludwig Petrowsky Quartett, and Hans Rempel Orchester. Gatefold sleeve, edition of 500.

Track List:

  • Berliner Improvisations Quartett - Sieben Viertel
  • Gumpert/Sommer Duo - Nachschlag Aufgewärmt 
  • Gumpert/Sommer Duo - Jazz Now Und Später
  • Friedhelm Schönfeld Trio - Manchmal Scheint's Als Ob
  • Ulrich Gumpert Workshop Band - For C.M. (Including: Oh Lord Please Don't Let Drop that Atomic Bomb on Me/Mingus) 
  • Studio IV - Wikope 
  • Gumpert/Sommer and Manfred Hering - Anophelismücke  
  • Ernst-Ludwig Petrowsky Quartett - Talar 
    Ernst-Ludwig Petrowsky Quartett - Enfant
  • Hans Rempel Orchester - Nummer 3 (Auschnitt/A part of the piece)