Various Artists - Hip Hop Collected 2LP

Regular price $37.99
Sale price $37.99 Regular price $44.99
Sale Sold out
Unit price
This is a pre order item. We will ship it when it comes in stock.

We grabbed this because it is a throwback to the 80's/90's compilations that sometimes tried to cover a bit too much ground. What is great about this one is that it covers a lot of ground but still works as a great mix. You'll want a copy of this for putting on at parties or for including in vinyl mixes (without having to buy all the originals.) It is a limited pressing (5,000) that we could only get a handful of copies of. Don't wait on this because it will disappear. 

"Hip Hop Collected will take you on a musical journey through the history of hip hop. This 2LP covers the first 20 years of the genre, showcasing 25 early pioneers who participated in the rise of hip hop. This compilation features music from the new labels that started to rise from the underground scene, like Sugar Hill Records, Profile and of course Def Jam. Including artists that defined a genre, a lifestyle and most of all, artists that inspired millions of young kids with both socially critical lyrics as well as classic party anthems. This hip hop compilation album is part of the new Collected compilation series, which is a collaboration between Universal Music and Music On Vinyl. The compilations bring together the biggest and best names of its genre, combined with forgotten hits and less discovered gems, giving the listener an experience of both nostalgia and uncovering new musical grounds at the same time. The 2LP features Kurtis Blow 'The Breaks', Grand Master Flash & The Furious Five 'The Message', Beastie Boys 'She's On It', Rob Base & DJ E-Z Rock 'Get On The Dancefloor', and Eric B. & Rakim 'Paid In Full' amongst many others. Hip Hop Collected is available as a limited edition of 5000 individually numbered copies on red (LP1) and white (LP2) colored vinyl. The album includes an insert with liner notes, photos, and credits."

Track List:

  • Kurtis Blow - The Breaks
  • Grandmaster Flash and the Furious Five - The Message
  • Whodini - The Freaks Come Out At Night
  • Beastie Boys - She's On It
  • Kool Moe Dee - It's Tricky
  • Eric B. & Rakim - Paid in Full (Mini Madness - The Coldcut Remix)
  • Ice-T - 6 'N The Mornin'
  • EPMD - Strictly Business
  • Slick Rick - Children's Story
  • Rob Base & DJ E-Z Rock - Get On The Dancefloor
  • LL Cool J - Mama Said Knock You Out
  • Tone Loc - Wild Thing
  • Kid Frost - La Raza
  • A Tribe Called Quest - Can I Kick It?
  • Fu-Schnickens - Ring The Alarm
  • MC Lyte - Poor Georgie
  • Wu-Tang Clan - CREAM
  • Warren G & Nate Dogg - Regulate (Jamming Mix)
  • Nas - NY State of Mind
  • Luniz - I Got 5 On It
  • Mobb Deep - Shook Ones Part II
  • Das EFX - Real Hip Hop
  • Busta Rhymes - Woo Hah! Got You All In Check
  • Gang Starr - Full Clip