Marvin Gaye - What's Going On (Original Detroit Mix) LP

Regular price $57.99

Originally released in 2001 on CD, the Detroit mix of the What's Going On is a wonderful glimpse into the initial mix of a legendary album.  The mix that we're all familiar was done in Los Angeles, while the original Detroit mix was (obviously) done in Detroit.

The LA mix helped propel this LP to the status of one of the greatest albums ever made, so it is hard to find flaws with it.  The Detroit mix is rougher, but this is a good thing.  The listener feels close to the action, for example, the bongo drums are much more up front in this mix. 

This pressing is imported from Japan, where it was put out by HMV Record Shop.  This is the first time it is pressed on vinyl, getting the listener that much closer to the way the Detroit mix was meant to sound.  Get a copy and hear a classic differently for the first time!

Track List:

  • What's Going On
  • What's Happening Brother
  • Flyin' High
  • Save The Children
  • God Is Love
  • Mercy Mercy Me
  • Right On
  • Wholy Holy
  • Inner City Blues (Make Me Wanna Holler)