Girls (Japan) - Girls LP

Regular price $24.99

Japanese Runaways was enough to get us interested in Girls the first time, but in case you need more convincing we're putting the official description of this LP below.  This thing is sure to disappear quickly, so if you're on the fence - don't wait!

Survival Research present a reissue of Girls' self-titled album, originally released in 1977. Pioneers of the josei rock movement, Japanese girl group Girls looked to the Runaways for inspiration, successfully adapting their "Cherry Bomb" in a mix of Japanese and English. Racier than contemporaries such as Mizutama Shobodan (or Polkadot Firebrigade), the band was driven by the teasing antics of lead singer Takako Nomoto, alias Rita, and the axe work of lead guitarist Atsuko Okuno, alias Iria. This riveting debut sees the Girls tackling "Honkey Tonk Woman", "Johnny B. Goode", and Blondie's "In The Flesh". The title track, "Nora Necko", or "Stray Cat" are a few of their irresistible hits.

Track List:

  • 野良猫
  • 恋は不思議な味
  • 北口通り
  • 怪盗X号
  • 殺人事件
  • キッスでさよなら
  • In the Flesh
  • Honkey Tonk Women
  • Cherry Bomb
  • Trivial Matters
  • Hard Luck Woman
  • Johnny B. Goode