Various Artists - Kompakt Total 22 2LP

Regular price $48.00
Sale price $48.00 Regular price
Sale Sold out
Unit price
This is a pre order item. We will ship it when it comes in stock.

It's common knowledge that Kompakt's Total series serves as our yearbook, a musical wrap up of the past 12 months. Therefore, it doesn't come as a surprise that 2022's edition is informed by another pandemic year, where dancefloors were still mostly deserted and the devastating developments in Eastern Europe. Kompakt's A&R team still kept on foot on the imaginary dancefloor, while scouting different realms apart from the big room euphoria. Anyway, brain dance has always been a key ingredient to our catalogue. Kompakt founding member Jörg Burger adequately opens Total 22 with a groovy midtempo chugger that reminisces "Blue Lines" era Massive Attack as much as the late Andy Weatherall's low slung psychedelia. Jürgen Paape is calling a spade a spade with "Le Monde À Changé" -- the world has changed. Matias Aguayo returns to the mothership with "The Tiger", a lascivious beast of a track, perfect for getting lost in reveries. Perel is spreading love with her ravishing piano house tune "Matrix", taken from her recent album Jesus Was An Alien (KOMP 171CD/KOM 451LP). Jonathan Kaspar ultimately pushes the energy to (almost) post-pandemic levels. Mexican musician Rebolledo delivers a first solo appearance on Total with his trademark hypnotic desert sound. Michael gives the overly talented Danish singer songwriter eee gee a proper Michael Mayer treatment. Double-LP version features Voigt & Voigt, Perel, Rebolledo, Jürgen Paape, Bruno, Matias Aguayo, Jonathan Kaspar, eee gee, Michael Mayer, and Jörg Burger.

Track List:

  • Why
  • The Hills
  • The Sharper Image
  • Le Monde A Changé (feat. Bruno)
  • Cinco Y Rojo
  • Where Am I
  • All or Nothing (Michael Mayer Remix)
  • Crawling Up That Hill (Instrumental Version)