Various Artists - J Jazz Volume 2 – Deep Modern Jazz from Japan 1969 – 1983 3LP

Regular price $67.00
Sale price $67.00 Regular price
Sale Sold out
Unit price
This is a pre order item. We will ship it when it comes in stock.

Following the sell-out success of our landmark compilation, J Jazz: deep modern jazz from Japan 1969-1984, BBE Records is thrilled to present another exploration into the very finest Japanese modern jazz.

J Jazz 2 builds on the solid foundation of the first compilation and sees co-compilers Tony Higgins and Mike Peden once again pick choice sections from their own record collections. They present a deep dive into an intoxicating and beguiling range of styles: from cinematic roaring big-band (Little G by Nobuo Hara) and sparse minimal acoustic funk (Teru Teru Bozo by Teru Sakomoto), to deep spiritual modal epics (Dragon Dance by Makoto Terashita and Harold Land) and funk fusion (Mother of the Future by Electro Keyboard Orchestra). J Jazz 2 delivers more astonishing high quality jazz that will appeal the old school hard-core jazz head as much as those digging the current sounds of the current vibrant jazz explosion in the UK and USA.

The specially chosen tracks on J Jazz volume two span across 25 years of Japanese musical progression and invention. From the elegiac stark beauty of Serenade to a Dimly Lit Street and the modal vortex of Daguri, to the fierce post-bop freedom of Bull Trout and the mid-tempo bossa lilt of Vietnam, there is enough here to satisfy the most curious and demanding jazz fan seeking something extra special.

  • Pressed on 180g black triple vinyl
  • Compiled by Tony Higgins and Mike Peden
  • Featuring Kohsuke Mine Quintet, Akira Miyazawa, and more!

Track List:

  • Makoto Terashita meets Harold Land - Dragon Dance
  • Nobuo Hara and His Sharps & Flats Orchestra - Little Giant
  • Mabumi Yamaguchi Quartet - Distant Thunder
  • Hideto Sasaki - Toshiyuki Sekine Quartet +1 - Stop Over
  • Miyasaka + 5 - Animal's Garden
  • Electro Keyboard Orchestra - Mother of the Future
  • Hiroshi Matsumoto and Hideo Ishikawa Quartet - Serenade To A Dimly Lit Street
  • Koichi Matsukaze Trio - The Original Bill
  • George Kawaguchi The Big 4 - Vietnam
  • Kohsuke Mine Quintet - Daguri
  • Mokoto Terashita - Dai Hosaku (Great Harvest)
  • Tero Sakamoto Trio - Teru-Teru Bozu (Black Keys)
  • Takashi Miyasaka Quintet - Straight Road
  • Toshiyuki Miyama & The New Herd With Masahiko Sato - Fallout
  • Akira Miyazawa - Brown Trout