Toshiko Yonekawa, Kiyoshi Yamaya & Contemporary Sound Orchestra - Tapestry: Koto & The Occident Sea LP

Regular price $55.00
Sale price $55.00 Regular price
Sale Sold out
Unit price
This is a pre order item. We will ship it when it comes in stock.

Tapestry: Koto is a three-album series produced by Nippon Columbia in the mid-1970s dedicated to one of the main instruments of Japanese traditional music: Koto. The beauty of the trilogy curated by composer Kiyoshi Yamaya, whose chapters are respectively dedicated to Sea, Hillside and Country, lies in the fact that they are a modern translation of tradition using newer and more avant-garde sound idioms, integrating the koto with jazz musicians. An original mix, a "crossover" that allows for the awakening and the consequential spread of traditional music in larger contexts. The extreme accuracy of the marvelous recordings is also remarkable. Toshiko Yonekawa who, from 1941 to 1944, won prizes as the best performer in the Japanese Cultural Federation's competition for traditional trios. She also received an award from the Prime Minister. Many other important recognitions followed until she became president of the Reichokai and executive director of the Sankyoku Association. In 1996, she was appointed Living National Treasure. Kiyoshi Yamaya attended the Kunitachi College of Music, and between 1956 and 1960 performed with Nobuo Hara and His Sharps & Flats (clarinet, saxophone, etc.) and was responsible for composition and arrangement. In 1959, he formed the Modern Jazz Three Association with Norio Maeda and Keitaro Miho, which contributed to the improvement of the level of composition and arrangement in Japanese jazz. In 1965, he became conductor of the Tokyo Union Orchestra and received the Japan Record Award's Arrangement Award. This album is an unmissable session for those seeking new sounds. Original masters licensed by Nippon Columbia for the first ever reissue. Includes OBI and insert.

Track List:

  • A1. 佐渡おけさ (Sado Okesa)
  • A2. 十三の砂山 (Tosa No Sunayama)
  • A3. 斉太郎節 (Saitaro-Bushi)
  • A4. ソーラン節 (Soran-Bushi)
  • A5. 三階節 (Sangai-Bushi)
  • A6. 島原の子守唄 (Shimabara No Komoriuta)
  • B1. 貝から節 (Kaigara-Bushi)
  • B2. 串本節 (Kushimoto-Bushi)
  • B3. 金比羅船々 (Konpira Fune Fune)
  • B4. 谷茶前 (Tanchame)
  • B5. 磯浜盆唄 (Isohama Bon-Uta)
  • B6. 大島節 (Oshima-Bushi)