Load image into Gallery viewer, Karin Jones - Under The Influence Of Love LP
Load image into Gallery viewer, Karin Jones - Under The Influence Of Love LP

Karin Jones - Under The Influence Of Love LP

Regular price $37.00
Sale price $37.00 Regular price
Sale Sold out
Unit price
This is a pre order item. We will ship it when it comes in stock.

Karin Jones (born and raised in Philadelphia) took her first musical steps singing in church. She was gifted with an extremely talented ear, and an accomplished pianist, percussionist and drummer, mostly developed without formal training. In her pre-teens Karin and her two older sisters formed a soul group called The Jonesettes that was managed by their father. They released a single titled ""Once I Had Love / Stop, Look & listen"" on Cougar Records in 1971 and participated on the gospel classic “After While” by ""Rev. Arvetra Jones And The Jonesettes"" released on HSE Records in 1975.

In 1976 a friend of Stevie Wonder told her that Marvin Gaye was looking for backing singers for his new record and subsequent tour. Karin auditioned for Marvin and was instantly hired. They recorded the “Got To Give It Up” EP and she hit the road for Marvin Gaye’s London Palladium tour (later released as a double live album on Motown in 1977).

Soon after Karin Jones started doing session work for the renowned label Jobete Records where Teddy Pendergrass got really impressed with her unique musical style. She signed with him for management in 1979, but with Teddy’s own frantic schedule, the arrangement dissolved a year later.

At a convention of the Black Music Association in Philadelphia, Karin met with Jim Tyrrell, who at the time was establishing his own label, T-Electric. Karin signed with T-Electric Records and recorded an album in 1980. However, the album was shelved because the label run out of money. After collecting dust for two years producer Jim Tyrrell brought it under the attention of industry veteran Ron Alexenburg who was president of Handshake Records. Alexenburg heard the album and very much liked it. He got Karin Jones to sign with his label and ""Under The Influence Of love"" finally got its well-deserved release in 1982.

“Under The Influence Of Love” is a monster of an album arranged by Dunn Pearson Jr (known for his work with Roy Ayers, Lou Ragland, Mary J. Blige, D’Angelo) and Bruce Hawes (Stevie Wonder, Kool And The Gang, The Temptations). All of this carefully supervised and produced by Jim Tyrrell. Also worth mentioning is that the duet on the album is the one and only time Eddie Levert, of the legendary O’Jays sang with a female artist.

Sadly (and shocking) Karin Jones suddenly passed away in 1984 from a diabetic coma. Strangely, she predicted an early demise while preparing her photo shoot for the album. Karin Jones was a true example of a bright light burning out way too quickly, thankfully we are left with the unique (and very rare) document that is her “Under The Influence Of Love” album.

The entire album is filled with heart breaking modern soul, deep disco, boogie-funk and a great range of tempos…all of this is topped off with Karin’s trademark vocals. Also included is the hit ‘Ready, Ready Love’ which was one of the biggest songs of the London steppers scene (or more fashionably known as ‘rare groove’) and almost impossible to get a hold of (unless you had deep pockets). To this day it remains a much sought-after gem and a ‘holy grail’ for fans and collectors alike.

Tidal Waves Music now proudly presents the FIRST ever OFFICIAL vinyl reissue of this rare Philadelphia album that goes for hefty amounts on the second-hand market (it was originally released on Handshake Records And Tapes back in 1982 and plagued by inferior bootlegs ever since). This unique record comes as a deluxe 180g vinyl edition (strictly limited to 500 copies) with obi strip and features the original artwork. Released exclusively for Record Store Day (UK/EUROPE) 2023 and available in participating stores on April 22, 2023.

Track List:

  • Under the Influence of Love
  • You Know Me, I Know You
  • Here I Go Again
  • So Right
  • Last Night In My Dreams
  • Ready, Ready Love
  • If You're In A Hurry
  • Ooh! Baby, Don't