Hitomi "Penny" Tohyama - Sexy Robot LP

Regular price $77.00
Sale price $77.00 Regular price
Sale Sold out
Unit price
This is a pre order item. We will ship it when it comes in stock.

A declaration of "Sexy Robot!" starts off both Hitomi Tohyama's song and LP titled "Sexy Robot."  It works perfectly.  In the hands of a less talented group of musicians, a title like "Sexy Robot" would sink an LP before it even starts.  Instead, Tohyama and company made a classic. 

This hard-to-find 1983 LP is best known for the second track, "Wanna Kiss." But it is front to back filled with great songs.   It pushes the City Pop sound forward by incorporating overseas influences.  It is clear that everyone involved was a fan of Blondie's "Rapture."  (Let's Talk in Bed even includes a talk over, similar to Debbie Harry's.)

Yet, like many other of the best LPs from this era, it is influenced by Western sounds, but incorporates it into a unique package.   This 2023 repressing on Nippon Columbia is the perfect way to enjoy it at a price that doesn't destroy your wallet.

Track List:

  • Sexy Robot
  • Wanna Kiss
  • Tuxedo Connection
  • Let's Talk In Bed
  • We Are In The Dark
  • Behind You
  • Try To Say
  • Cathy
  • Slow Love
  • Be Mine