Hiroshi Suzuki & Masahiko Togashi Quintet - Variation LP (Japanese Pressing)

Regular price $78.00
Sale price $78.00 Regular price
Sale Sold out
Unit price
This is a pre order item. We will ship it when it comes in stock.

A new trend born from the collision of two unparalleled personalities. Sharpness and passion intersect. A monumental work that captures the transformation of Japanese jazz.

On the other hand, Hiroshi Suzuki, a trombonist who was in great demand, was told, "If you want to record a good work, check his schedule.’’ Masahiko Togashi, a drummer who made his mark at a young age and swept the jazz world from modern jazz to free jazz. The clash of these two personalities and talents has created a new trend in the Japanese jazz scene.

“Castle Cats”, which goes back and forth between jazz rock and free jazz, “Suzu no Uta”, where Yuji Ohno’s piano spins a beautiful melody amidst the sound of bells falling like rain, and “Passion”, where each musician cuts sharply. The whole story is full of creativity and passion. In 1969, this work is said to be the first recording/production of free jazz in Japan. Japanese jazz made a big move at this point.

  • Originally released in 1969
  • Pressed on black vinyl
  • Record is said to be the first recording of free jazz in Japan

Track List:

  • Castle Cats
  • Variation
  • Suzu No Uta
  • Alfie
  • Passion